RSS

#4: Buy a $2 shirt

05 Jan

For those of you reading this in the future (2040 and beyond), let me clarify something.  $2 doesn’t buy you much back then (now, for those of you reading this in the present).  You can’t even get a decent slice of pizza for that much.  You can get a bottle of nail polish and bag of pasta at a dollar store for that amount, but not really much else.  Even the dollar menu at McDonald’s doesn’t apply in Manhattan.

So when I saw a tank top on sale for $2 at Top Shop, I knew I had to buy it.  It doesn’t matter that it’s the middle of winter and summer is only a faint dream at this point.  It doesn’t matter that I shouldn’t be spending money on things I don’t absolutely need right now.  All that matters is that it’s a $2 shirt, and I’ve never had one of those before.

You may be wondering whether I think a cheap shirt is really worth writing about.  I can’t tell you for sure yet, but who knows?  If you’re reading this in 2040, you may already know.  All I can tell you in the present is this: in 5 months when I can actually wear it, that shirt may somehow change my life.  And if it does, it will be the best $2 I ever spent.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 5, 2012 in Clothing

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
