RSS

#44: City Bakery

14 Feb

This is love.

It’s not perfect, because no true love is.  We’ve had our problems.  He was lukewarm in the beginning and I had to ask him to get hotter.  I had my qualms about whether he was really worth it.  He worried I might like his white buddy better than I liked him.  We both wondered whether the relationship could last longer than 20 minutes.

But through it all, we prevailed.  We recognized that it wasn’t just his dark exterior that I was in love with and it wasn’t only my mouth that he loved me for.  We realized that although we may be in very different places, both geographically and in our lives, we both care enough to put in the effort to make it work.  We know our relationship will last because when it’s real, you make it last.  You don’t worry about silly things like new flavors of the day or limited funds.  You get through it all because you know it’s worth whatever you have to go through in order for you to be together.

I admit I’m a little sad that I didn’t get to meet him earlier, but I think if making it through nearly 28 years without him in my life was what it took before I could live my happily ever after, then that’s a small price to pay for happiness.

Some people may warn me that it’s too soon to know for sure and they may remind me that I was never one to buy into that “When it’s right, you know” stuff.  I know they’re just trying to look out for me, but there’s no escaping the fact that the moment my lips touched him, I knew there was no one else I would ever want to be with.

So today, on this most romantic of all days, on Valentine’s Day, I profess my true feelings: City Bakery Darkest Dark Hot Chocolate, I love you.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 14, 2012 in Food/Drink

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
