RSS

#51: Learn about pomegranates

21 Feb

The pomegranate.  A so-called superfruit, pomegranates have, over the past few years, become especially popular for their nutritional value–and it doesn’t hurt that they’re delicious.  But it turns out, I had no idea what, exactly, a pomegranate really looked like.  And it might as well have been a lychee, for all I knew about how to eat it.

But, when I came across the gloriousness that is dark chocolate pomegranates, I decided to find out more about this delicious delicacy because, after eating countless apples and oranges over the years, the pomegranate seemed like a mysterious, exotic stranger I wanted to get to know.

It turns out, the name means “seeded apple,” and it looks kind of like an apple with an onion top.  It turns out, you don’t just bite into a pomegranate like you would an apple.  It turns out, the part you eat encloses the seeds.  It turns out, there’s a whole website devoted entirely to pomegranates.  It turns out, pomegranates are much more complex than one might assume.  It turns out, even when you think you’re pretty knowledgeable about fruit since you claim to love almost every kind (except star fruit and coconut, if that is even a true fruit), there is always more to learn.  Who knew?  (If the answer is, Everyone but you, please treat this as a rhetorical question.)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2012 in Food/Drink

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “#51: Learn about pomegranates

  1. http://www.aidubooks.com/

    July 19, 2013 at 2:51 am

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

     
    • fishmongerairlines

      July 19, 2013 at 7:47 am

      Thanks! I’m glad you found it too!

       
  2. Livsey

    March 25, 2017 at 4:09 am

    It’s some sort of disgrace an individual don’t use a donate button! I’d certainly offer for this outstanding blog! I guess for the moment i’ll are satisfied with book-marking as well as including your Feed to my personal Yahoo bill. My partner and i expect new changes and may mention this site using our Myspace group. Chat shortly!

     

Leave a Reply

 
