RSS

#59: Watch Dance Moms

29 Feb

I never saw it coming.  There I was, just going about my normal life, thinking everything was regular, not expecting a sudden revelation to hit me from out of nowhere.

And that’s when it happened–I discovered a reality show I didn’t like.

I don’t want to sound overly dramatic here, so I’ll admit there are some other reality shows I’m sure I wouldn’t like, such as Dancing With the Stars, Big Brother (is that one still on?), and Ice Road Truckers.  But I never bothered to watch those because I knew they wouldn’t be entertaining to me.

This one?  It had all the makings of a mindless hit to me: competition, young girls being forced into ridiculous situations, adults acting absolutely insane.  What’s not to like?  But there was something about Dance Moms that just wasn’t fun.  The adults’ horrible behavior didn’t make me grin with glee at how absurd it was; it made me cringe at the thought that someone had to stand there watching it in order to tape it.  The children’s un-childlike situations didn’t make me stare with wonder at how it could possibly be real; they made me wince with disgust that human beings were spending their lives on something so terrible.

Am I growing up?  Is this a sign of maturity, that I won’t watch Dance Moms again?  Does it mean I’m no longer going to watch shows that are obvious wastes of time?  Of course not.  I can’t wait for The Bachelor: The Women Tell All next week.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 29, 2012 in TV

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
