RSS

#89: Be anonymous to family

30 Mar

I wouldn’t say I’m close with my family, but only because if I did, I think you’d get the wrong impression.  We’re not close like how adult siblings are each other’s best friends sometimes on TV.  But I still think I have a pretty good relationship with them.  And I know, when it comes down to it, when you get past the everyday disagreements or shouting or emotional meltdowns, if I really need someone to be there for me, I can count on them.

So when I called my sister to wish her a happy birthday yesterday and she didn’t answer, I assumed she was busy.  I didn’t leave a voicemail because no one listens to voicemails anymore.  I sent her a text instead, saying that I’d called and I hoped she had a great day.  No response.

That’s fine.  I’m certainly not the type of person who requires a response to texts that don’t require one.  I rarely send texts myself.

But then my mom got a text from my sister thanking her for the fudge she’d dropped off, so I asked her to text my sister just to make sure she’d gotten my text.  My sister said she hadn’t.

And then: Oh wait, is her number 6-1-7…?

It turns out, my sister had received both the call and the text but didn’t know they were from me because she didn’t have my number.  Apparently, when she had switched phones a couple of months ago, she hadn’t transferred any numbers, so the only ones she had were from people who had contacted her in the past 2 months.

Which would’ve made me feel guilty, except that we live 10 minutes away and I see her pretty often.  And I’m not a texting person (see above).

But it did make me wonder: if I can be anonymous to my sister, who else am I unknowingly anonymous to? Who else is out there with no clue who I am?  Whose numbers do I have in my phone that belong to people who don’t recognize mine?

Those answers were too depressing to consider, so I didn’t.  I just told my mom to tell my sister that, yes, 6-1-7 is mine.

Two hours later, I received a text thanking me for the birthday wishes.  Which is all anyone really wants, isn’t it? Just some acknowledgement.  But the thing is, with family, it’s unnecessary.  Because you know, when it comes down to it, when you get past the everyday disagreements or shouting or emotional meltdowns, if you really need someone to be there for you, you can count on your family.

Even if they don’t have your phone number.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 30, 2012 in People

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
