RSS

#121: Cancel HowAboutWe

01 May

When I signed up for HowAboutWe, I expected to get a fun date or two out of it, but not much else.  I expected to recommend it to friends who were looking for activity partners.  I expected to never log in again after my free subscription had ended.

I got no dates out of it because it was confusing (the automated “I’m intrigued by this date idea” message is just one of the cryptic features) and I only logged in for about a week.  I will not be recommending it to anyone because it didn’t seem useful to me.  I had to log in yesterday so I could find contact information in order to complain about a $26.99 charge that mysteriously showed up on my credit card.

When you sign up for a dating site, go on a date, or start dating someone exclusively, you take a lot of risks.  In the first case, that you’ll never meet anyone decent.  In the second, that your date will murder you.  In the third, that your boyfriend will one day develop a chocolate allergy so severe that you can’t even eat chocolate (even if you brush your teeth after) if you want to be around him.  These are inherent risks that accompany dating.

A risk I do not expect to encounter is a company turning a free subscription–essentially, a chance I took on them to see if the ads on every single site I visit were backed up by a worthwhile dating site–into an opportunity for stealing my money.

I haven’t yet received a response to my email.  I expect a full refund and an apology for whatever scam I’m caught up in (maybe some kind of automatic renewal I never knowingly signed up for; maybe they just assumed I loved the site so much based on the fact that I hadn’t signed in to my account since February and decided, out of courtesy, to go ahead and charge me for another month).  I expect that.  But, I also have realistic expectations of a dating site that seems to send the message that communication isn’t all that important (hey, I get it that no one likes talking on the phone these days, but to provide only one phone number on your entire site, for your PR girl who apparently never answers the phone, is a surefire way to make customers who actually do want to speak to someone even more frustrated).  So I doubt I’ll actually get the refund.

If I do, I’ll be happy to spread the word about this dating site that I was less than pleased with even before I saw the $26.99 charge on my credit card.  If I don’t, I’ll file this experience under “why you shouldn’t think people aren’t out to screw you over” and go on with my life.  I’ll still take risks.  But I’ll never utter the phrase, “How about we…” again.*****

*****I guess I can’t promise I won’t say that ever again in my life.  But I’ll try Purrsonals (“The Cat Lovers Social Network”) before I ever consider HowAboutWe.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on May 1, 2012 in Dating

 

Tags: , , ,

17 responses to “#121: Cancel HowAboutWe

  1. melissa

    September 5, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    Did you ever get a response from them? They’ve basically been ignoring my emails about cancellation and I think I’m going to need to dispute the charge with my credit card company. I can’t find a phone number anywhere to harass them via phone.

     
    • fishmongerairlines

      September 5, 2012 at 11:28 pm

      I did, and they were actually great about it–lack of contact number is definitely frustrating. Good luck!

       
  2. Mary

    January 15, 2014 at 2:37 am

    Hi did you ever get your refund? This is happening to me now and they are not responding. So frustrating. Do you have a phone number?

     
    • fishmongerairlines

      January 15, 2014 at 6:56 am

      They won’t offer a phone number but I did get a response finally…coincidentally (or not?) after I wrote this post. Good luck!

       
  3. Mike

    March 4, 2014 at 3:47 am

    Want to delete profile, u all make it so hard that’s not right, if a person don’t want there profile active u should make it easy

     
    • fishmongerairlines

      March 4, 2014 at 8:07 am

      I agree–but you realize I don’t have any connection with the site, right?

       
  4. Alex Hunting

    October 3, 2014 at 5:04 pm

    When I signed up, I remember seeing looking at the refund policy. It was something like if you don’t go on any dates, you get your money back. Did anyone else experience that? Now I’m requesting my money back. What do you have to say to get your money back?

    I

     
  5. Katy

    October 11, 2014 at 8:51 pm

    I am experiencing the same thing with this service; they won’t respond to my emails and they don’t seem to answer the one phone number associated with their business. Customer service is essential. I don’t know how they missed this key detail when they started How About We.

     
  6. Bethsoda

    December 17, 2014 at 1:21 pm

    Just for all of you that have had the same problem – I signed up with a promo rate in May or June, decided I didn’t like it and specifically checked about the auto renew and did what they said to prevent auto renew and have my subscription be done after the promo period was up. I did that once, signed on again just to make sure when I knew the time was coming up and found I had to do it again. Then, after the three months I saw I had been charged the full price for another three months. I contacted them and they were nice about and SAID that it was taken care of, they were cancelling my account and refunding my card. Cut to months later when I find out my credit has taken a hit for that charge on my credit card which was never actually reversed (I never have used that card for anything else so thought it had a zero balance and with a change of address and e-mail has no idea I had a balance.) There was no phone number to contact them – only the stupid e-mail. I disputed the charge with my credit card company and thankfully got them to reverse the charge and the over $100 in late fees I had for not paying a charge that was not supposed to be there in the first place. In addition, I had to cancel that card because I found out that in November the company was attempting to charge my card AGAIN for another three month auto renewal. Luckily, because my balance was overdo it wouldn’t go through and now the card has been cancelled. Annoyed, but glad to know I’m not alone in the frustration!

     
  7. padma sukhlall

    January 5, 2015 at 4:10 pm

    I’m having the same issue. I haven’t used the HowAboutWe for couples service since the August and I’ve been trying to cancel for the last week. They’ve changed their name to You&Me concierge and they have multiple email addresses. However, regardless of the numerous emails I’ve sent to cancel my account, I’ve yet to hear from them! There no option to cancel your account and no phone number. I’m so sick of this company, I blame myself for not using the dates but I blame them for continuously charging me without giving the option to cancel my account. Disgusting. I’m calling my bank to refund the last months charge prevent them from charging me again.

     
  8. Stephen

    February 18, 2015 at 5:26 am

    I think you’re more likely to meet someone here than on the site. Shared experience that matches everyone else. I should have known better.

     
    • fishmongerairlines

      February 18, 2015 at 7:22 am

      Good idea–I should start a support group/dating site for those thwarted by HowAboutWe.

       
      • J MEDINA

        July 18, 2015 at 4:51 pm

        Hey fishmonger, great posts–I too went thru this crazy experience of trying to get rid of my HowAboutWe account & the ridiculous high “auto-renewal” charges; & like other people have posted…I’ve not really gotten any dates out of it so I question its legitimacy (since other sites/apps I’ve used work much easier/better w/more dates, etc. And not sure if you did/didn’t end up starting the support group that you posted about previously, but I’m in if you got it started, so let me know!!

        With that said, I found that for iPhone users like me, who got into HowAboutWe by buying the app on their phone, I could contact Apple Support–so MIRACULOUSLY, it was super-quick & easy!!

        The representative I spoke with (I just called right now, Saturday) told me she’d refund the auto-renew-$ charged today & with that action/reversal-refund it cancels the auto-renewal/”subscription”.

        NOTE–I went to https://getsupport.apple.com/ServiceOptionAction.action and it gives you options on IMMEDIATELY getting help via e-mail/Chat/phone. I chose the phone option & the automated system called me within like a few seconds after I’d entered my info online and even though it said there was “an extremely high number of calls with an approx. wait time of 15 minutes”, the representative came on super-quickly right after that (hence my “miracle” description above)!!

        So I hope this info helps others out there. Good Luck, everyone!
        TAZMAN

         
  9. Yin

    February 19, 2015 at 2:55 pm

    I called American Express and they posted me another number for call Howaboutwe.com: 214-576-9352.

     
  10. Raven

    May 6, 2015 at 3:53 pm

    I called (214) 576-9352, it goes to Match.com HQ and they are affiliated with “Howaboutwe” but have not heard of the name change to “You&Me Concierge”. They say there is no other phone number listed under them and only have an email address listed as “theteam@howaboutwe.com”. Not sure if I’ll get a response. I’ve also been calling (305) 608-5536 which was on my CC statement but there is no answer and the mailbox is full.

     
  11. David

    May 17, 2015 at 2:05 am

    I am thinking of starting a class action lawsuit because I’m encountering the same issues..I’ve emailed them and no response. Name change along with no phone number listed is deceptive business pratices. Who’s in on a class action? It’s more about principle than anything.

     
  12. Delete helper

    May 28, 2015 at 1:16 pm

    ***HOW TO PERMANENTLY DELETE YOUR ACCOUNT**

    They keep deleting my comments but it’s alright. I’ll just keep copying and pasting.

    1: Upload all your pictures to something gross “blue waffle” for example. So when they delete it, it will revert to something else bad. Delete all normal pictures.

    2: Message as many girls as you can and force your account to be deleted. Put as many dates out there as you can, say some horrible things. Anything to get noticed.

    3: Be persistent. I spammed every hour or so with new dates so i was relevant and I was happily deleted from this god awful website.

    4: Be happy. Note to website.. make a easier option. Lawsuit is a funny thing when your FORCED to ask someone to delete your profile. Granted your terms and service are garbage but its all good. In due time my friends.

     

Leave a Reply

 
