RSS

#138: Want an engagement ring

18 May

So I’ve been dating someone for the past 2 years, we constantly make each other collapse in laughter, he doesn’t care that I’m crazy, and now I really want to be engaged.

Hahaha!  Just kidding, that’s not true.

What I mean by wanting a ring is, I’ve always thought most engagement rings were ugly.  They’re boring and generic looking and come on, you can’t tell me those gigantic diamonds don’t get caught on everything. Seriously, don’t tell me that because a friend just told me the opposite and I believe her.  This same friend has a ring that is, while not as small as I’d want, at least much smaller than the typical single stone default ring most girls end up with.  The band is at least sort of different, too.

And, looking at it, I thought: I could want an engagement ring.

When my older sister got married, that was the first time I thought I may actually want to get married.  When she had a kid, that was the first time I thought maybe I could possibly be capable of doing that as well at some point far in the future.  But it wasn’t until I saw my friend’s ring yesterday that I realized I want an engagement ring.  Sure, it would have to meet some very detailed specifications (a small enough stone so that it doesn’t stick out much; either a unique, custom design or a one-of-a-kind antique; definitely not yellow gold; not even necessarily a diamond), but I could see myself one day wearing that specific ring that probably only exists in my mind.

Luckily, there isn’t a particularly long line of men waiting to design this ring for me at the moment, so I don’t need to think about it now.  But it’s nice to know that if I ever did want to think about it, it wouldn’t be the most unpleasant thought ever.

Phew!  Good to know, right?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 18, 2012 in People

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “#138: Want an engagement ring

  1. newsofthetimes

    May 18, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    It was a surprise to me that I wanted a ring. I thought we could use that money differently. But when the time came, I realized that I love looking ata unique ring (unique was important to me, too) that reminds me of a very special time in our relationship. There is something to that! Thanks for the great post!

     
    • fishmongerairlines

      May 18, 2012 at 3:30 pm

      Yeah, material objects aren’t usually a big deal for me, but I’m sure if I ever reach that point, I’ll appreciate the physical symbol. Thanks for the comment!

       

Leave a Reply

 
