RSS

#145: Stay out of it

25 May

I don’t like to call myself a fighter.  I would prefer to be someone who can go with the flow, calmly accept things, let things roll off of her, and not get bent out of shape over everything.  But just because you don’t call a dragon a dragon, that doesn’t mean you’re not going to get fire-breathed on.

So, I might as well admit it.  I fight.  I don’t like to fight, but I do fight.  Regardless of how insignificant the subject is, if I don’t agree with something, I will let you know.  I will make sure that expressing my viewpoint comes before keeping the peace, making you like me, or going to sleep.  Is the conversation about a heated issue like abortion?  I’ll speak up.  Is it about something inconsequential, like sushi?  You’ll hear my thoughts on that as well.  Is it about something I don’t even care about?  Well sure, I’ll let you know that, too.

So yesterday, when my brother mentioned how the red M&M in the “sexy and I know it” commercial should have known the brown one wasn’t naked because he already knew who she was, and my dad said something to counter that, my typical reaction would have been to take a side.  It would have been tough, because you could argue either side, really.  This is the first commercial where we’ve seen the red guy see the brown M&M, true. But how do we know they haven’t attended some of the same parties together in the past?

The lack of good evidence for one side or the other wasn’t the reason I chose to stay out of it, though.  I just didn’t feel like getting involved.  I didn’t care whether this disagreement remained unresolved.  I didn’t mind that no one knew my opinion on the matter.  And whether you want to call it that or not, that’s progress.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 25, 2012 in People

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
