RSS

#161: Decipher Greek

10 Jun

I’m just going to come right out and say it: I’m addicted to craigslist.  It started out as a way to buy random things I didn’t really need during college, like a box full of VHS tapes when I was the only person who still had a VCR.  Next, I found an apartment through the site.  Then it morphed into a place to find friends when I moved to NYC and didn’t know anyone.  Eventually, I actually used it for dating (I would say “don’t judge me,” but I know that won’t stop you).  Then, for awhile, I was clean.  I even dared to believe I had kicked the compulsion to check the site just to see what kinds of things people were selling or what kinds of dates they were offering, depending on the year.

However–and this should come as no surprise to anyone who knows anything about addiction or me–recently I’ve slipped back into the habit of looking at apartment listings.  Just for fun.  Because that’s the kind of thing one does for fun in Ohio (I would say only I am allowed to make fun of the state because I grew up here, but I know that won’t stop you).  Yesterday, I found an ad for a too-good-to-be-true (meaning affordable in a nice area in a gorgeous building) apartment.  What’s interesting about this particular ad, aside from its too-good-to-be-trueness, is that it was written in Greek.  I instantly recognized psi–you know the pitchfork-looking symbol used in math and physics?  It’s my favorite Greek letter.

What’s also interesting about the ad is that I could read it.  Not every word, but most of them.  Granted, some of the letters do look similar to ones in the English alphabet, but it was a supremely weird feeling to be staring at something in Greek that made sense to me.  It felt like suddenly, for some reason, I was given the gift of understanding languages.

What would be really great is if this gift would also help me decipher impossible captchas, but it was still pretty cool to be able to read the apartment ad.  Completely useless, but cool.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 10, 2012 in Computers

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
