RSS

#165: Watch the movie first

14 Jun

“I hate sci-fi.”  I say this all the time.  But this is simply not true.  I do not hate sci-fi.  In fact, I love sci-fi when it’s about genetics or time travel, or if it’s called Minority Report.

With my faux-hatred-but-secret-love of sci-fi, I’m surprised I haven’t ever read The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.  Maybe it seemed to scream SCI-FI! too much for me to consider it.  Or maybe I just never really thought of it except in passing.  Let’s go with the second one because it makes me sound like less of an idiot.

Whatever the reason, I haven’t read the book, but I decided to watch the movie anyway.  I don’t do this as a rule.  The book comes first.  Always.  It’s not just me being neurotic.  It actually makes me give the movie a more favorable review when I like the book that inspired it, and I like being able to give a movie a positive review because it’s a nice relief from my typical, “It was slow-moving so I didn’t make it past the first 25 minutes.”

Breaking my own rule left me pleasantly surprised.

Do I think the book is probably at least 80 times better than the movie?  Oh yeah.  But the movie features basically the entire male cast of Love Actually, with Zooey Deschanel thrown in there for an extra dose of likability/quirkiness.  There are weird looking aliens, plot points that while occasionally thin still manage to include enough British humor to keep you entertained, and everyone’s favorite the-earth-is-being-destroyed theme.  What’s not to like?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 14, 2012 in Books, Movies

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
