RSS

#192: Make cake pops

11 Jul

I’ve been hearing about these things for years.  Everyone has either tasted them or made them or, at the very least, linked to pictures of them on pinterest.  And understandably so.  What’s not to like?  They’re cake and frosting and chocolate.

So I finally made them.  To make cake pops, you mix cake with frosting and roll it into a ball, and then you dip the ball in melted chocolate and wait for it to harden until you have a mushy ball of cake with a hard layer of chocolate over it.

The problem with the cake pop is that it tastes like a mushy ball of cake with a hard layer of chocolate over it. In other words, disgusting–for a texturemaniac, at least (that’s not a real word but it’s the closest I can think of to what I am when it comes to food).  Mushy cake?  I thought I was going to enjoy a dessert made out of mushy cake?  And I could just throw on some hard chocolate and it would suddenly make it okay?

Everyone else loves cake pops.  Everyone else is happy with them and raves about them and waves pictures of their cake pop masterpieces in my face.  I guess I just got caught up in the hype and didn’t stop to think whether it was something I would actually enjoy.

Just because 2 things are awesome, it doesn’t guarantee they’ll be awesome together.  You wouldn’t put ketchup and ice cubes together, would you?  Or an orchestra in the ocean?  How about a sunrise with a sunset?  (Actually, that would probably be cool.)  I know that’s a lesson I should have learned a long time ago, but it took the experience of making cake pops to finally convince me.  I’ll stick to having my cake and eating my chocolate separately, thank you.  And I will no longer be jealous when I see pictures of cake pops posted on facebook.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2012 in Food/Drink

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “#192: Make cake pops

  1. Bookstore Junkie

    July 11, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    My daughter loves the pink cake pops from Starbucks and I keep saying we will try to make them sometime. I think I am going to cheat though and buy a cake pop maker instead of rolling themselves.

     
    • fishmongerairlines

      July 11, 2012 at 4:05 pm

      They’re actually easy to make, as long as you don’t mind your hands getting messy and sticky!

       

Leave a Reply

 
