RSS

#204: Eat a plain lychee

23 Jul

The lychee martini.  One of nature’s greatest–I mean, man’s greatest accomplish–I mean, man’s greatest drinks.  Never had one?  It’s good.

So, naturally, the fruit itself would probably be good, too, right?  I had never tried one.  I had actually bought lychees before, unknowingly, on a whim, because I saw them at a fruit stand and thought they were the weirdest looking fruit ever.  But I didn’t end up eating them because I couldn’t figure out how to.

This time, my friend was there to give me instructions.

First, you have to peel the fruit’s hard skin off.  Next, you have to dig around until you get the huge pit out.  Only then can you pop the ball of grape-like consistency into your mouth.

Maybe that doesn’t sound like much, but it felt like a lot of work.  And it felt kind of like I was chewing an eyeball.

There are plenty of things in life that I think are worth the effort.  Eating a lychee is not one of them.

I’ll just stick to the martini.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 23, 2012 in Food/Drink

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
