RSS

#218: Be Rear Window creepy

06 Aug

One of the many things I love about NYC is how easy it is to look into people’s apartments.  I would try to edit that sentence to make it sound less creepy, but after you read what I am about to reveal, I don’t think it will matter.  I just mean that when I’m walking by a row of brownstones and my eyes happen to shift to the street-level apartment that is larger than any I’ve actually been in, I like to imagine what the people who live there are like.  I like to think about what they’re doing and what they’re saying and how they’re existing.  Just for fun.  My eyes never linger long enough to figure any of this out, so it’s pretty harmless.

Last night, though, I definitely drifted over into Rear Window territory.  Before you judge me, let me state a few facts.

  1. I love watching the Olympics.
  2. The television in the apartment where I’m staying doesn’t work (I know it’s my own fault for not asking whether the giant tv in the living room worked, but come on, it was a giant tv in the living room).
  3. It can get expensive to watch the Olympics at bars.
  4. There are only so many times you can invite yourself over to your friends’ places to watch the Olympics before you realize you have to uninvite yourself or else fork over some money toward rent.
  5. I didn’t plan this.

I just happened to look out the window as I entered my bedroom and noticed the Olympics were playing on the tv in the apartment across the street.  Diving happened to be on, which is one of my favorite events to watch, so I just happened to realize that if I turned off the light in my room I could sit there watching the Olympics undetected for as long as I wanted.

If it makes you feel better, I couldn’t see any of the times or scores, and there was a curtain hanging down rather annoyingly, obstructing the view of the right end of the screen.  If it makes this seem a little more normal, I was also trying to learn how to count to 10 in Chinese, so I wasn’t solely staring into a stranger’s home.  If it makes it more acceptable, I wouldn’t mind if someone did the same thing to me, as long as I never found out about it.

If it makes you more inclined to close your shades the next time you’re watching the Olympics, I don’t blame you.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2012 in Sports, TV

 

Tags:

2 responses to “#218: Be Rear Window creepy

  1. rumclaren

    August 6, 2012 at 8:59 am

    That’s brilliant. Links neatly to my latest blog which talks about massive televisions that make me look through windows. I’m pretty sure pointing your eyes in any direction is yet to be outlawed so don’t feel too bad about your Olympics stealing.

     
    • fishmongerairlines

      August 6, 2012 at 9:45 am

      Phew, good to know–I will trust your legal advice for now. Thanks for the comment!

       

Leave a Reply

 
