RSS

#219: Buy water shoes

07 Aug

I grew up in a jellies-obsessed time, so those were the only summer shoes I ever needed as a child.  Plus, as uncomfortable as they were, they looked so much cooler than water shoes.  I never thought the day would come when I would buy them.

But then I saw water shoes being sold for $5 at a Big Lots-type store and I couldn’t resist.  Why?  Because one day I might need them.  How do I know this?  Well, I don’t, but what I do know is that these situations in my life could have gone more smoothly if only I’d had a $5 pair of water shoes:

  • Walking along a coral reef beach in Australia.  As pretty as it is, it’s important to remember: that stuff is pointy and hurts!
  • Randomly climbing a mountain in St. Lucia.  When you’re navigating a rocky path with nothing between you and your tragic death but your footwear, flip flops just don’t give you the confidence you need.
  • Hiking up waterfalls in Jamaica.  If you don’t have water shoes, you may end up buying a pair of $7 sneakers to wear in the water, and these shoes may smell so bad–before you even get them wet–that you will have to immediately throw them away.

I don’t have any guarantee, of course, that I’ll ever encounter another situation where water shoes will come in handy, but as long as I keep enjoying visiting places with water, I’d say there’s a good chance.  And being prepared never hurt anybody.  (At least as far as I know.  I don’t know everyone who was ever prepared for anything in the history of the universe, so I’m just going with my gut here.)

coral reef in Australia

mountain in St. Lucia

waterfall in…New Zealand (I didn’t have a camera in Jamaica, which is unacceptable, so I will just share this photo–I didn’t technically have a camera in NZ either because it was broken, but a friend let me take some pictures with hers)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 7, 2012 in Clothing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
