RSS

#220: Watch Falling Overnight

08 Aug

The next time I hear a movie has won lots of awards at random film festivals, I’ll check more closely which awards and which festivals.  And then I probably still won’t see the movie.

Falling Overnight seemed like someone had accidentally pointed a camera at the most obnoxious man in the world and, right before turning off the camera and going to look for a more intriguing subject, they found out this man had a brain tumor and may die, and for some reason, that gave them enough reason to keep filming.

If the main character were a real person, I’d punch him in the nose (if I were a violent person).  Luckily, I’m not a violent person, because I feel like I actually have come across people like him in real life–the type who think they’re incredibly awesome and worthy of admiration or sympathy, depending on the situation, simply because they’re slightly quirky.  It sucks that he could be dying and everything, but that doesn’t mean I want to watch over an hour of his boring antics falling in love with an equally annoying girl.

There was one funny character in the movie, but his screen time was too negligible to make up for the discomfort I felt throughout the rest of it.

I probably won’t really give up on giving indie movies a try, though, because I’m too afraid of missing out on the few and far between gems like Once.  Luckily, that one eventually claimed the attention it deserved, but if it hadn’t, the only reason I would have heard of it is because I gave a random film about an Irish busker a chance. So okay.  I guess if suffering through movies like Falling Overnight is what it takes to discover the one movie that restores your faith in the term “indie,” then I can do it.  But I won’t be happy about it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 8, 2012 in Movies

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
