RSS

#234: Eat Van Leeuwen Artisan Ice Cream

22 Aug

That is the official name for this sophisticated ice cream producer.  Because you need to have “artisan” in the title to explain why a small cup costs $4.90.

I used to walk by the store in the East Village all the time, but I never went in.  Then, I walked by the truck on the way home from the subway all the time, but I never tried it.  I just couldn’t justify spending so much on so little.  According to the website, they “make our ice cream using only fresh hormone and antibiotic free milk and cream from local farms, cane sugar and egg yolks. Our flavors are created using ingredients from the world’s finest small producers.”  So I guess that is supposed to explain the hefty price.

But, as you should know by now, I’m not impressed by expensive ingredients.  I chose the McDonald’s chocolate chip cookie.  I prefer the corner pizza place to Grimaldi’s.  Telling me about the amazing products your dish comes from doesn’t make me want to pay more for it.  I know I’m a disgrace to all foodies, and I don’t care.

So anyway, this $5 ice cream–it was good.  Was it better than the Brooklyn Ice Cream Factory ice cream, which is my favorite in the city and also comes with a great walk over the bridge if you’re doing it right?  Nope. It was creamy, and the strawberry flavor tasted very strawberry-y.  But it melted fast, looked artificially colored (I assume it wasn’t because that would go against the whole fresh, natural theme), and was gone in about 3 minutes.  And it didn’t come with a fun bridge walk.  Which I guess isn’t technically the ice cream’s fault, but still.  I’m in New York.  I want an experience.

Also, they opted not to use a serial comma in their description, so they get minus one point for that.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 22, 2012 in Food/Drink

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
