RSS

#243: Use caffeine

31 Aug

My body reacts severely to caffeine–severely as in if I drink coffee or take Excedrin at any time during the day (even in the morning), I can’t sleep at night.  I’m not exaggerating; I will literally not sleep for the entire night.  I’ll be exhausted, but I won’t be able to fall asleep.  It’s awful.

Needless to say, I avoid caffeine as much as possible.  However, this week, between changing my sleep schedule, being sick, and having to concentrate for longer than I’ve had to in a while, my body just wanted sleep constantly.  Unfortunately, I was also really busy so I couldn’t give in to it.

By Thursday, I knew I had to do something, so I did the unthinkable: I woke up even earlier and stopped at Starbucks to buy green tea.  To tell the truth, I’m not sure how much caffeine is even in the kind I got because I’ve had it before without the horrible no-sleep effect.  But from my quick googling, it definitely contained some caffeine.

And…I felt more awake for about 2 minutes.  But the point wasn’t really to help me feel better–just to ensure I didn’t actually fall asleep at my desk.  So: success!

Will I keep buying green tea or other caffeinated beverages when I need a little pick-me-up?  Probably not.  I don’t want to spend the money, and I don’t really want to waste the calories on a drink.  Plus, I’d always be a little bit afraid of not being able to sleep at night, and you don’t want to know me when I haven’t slept all night. So really, avoiding caffeine is a public service.  You’re welcome.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 31, 2012 in Health

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
