RSS

#261: Get a subway swipe from a stranger

18 Sep

Not illegally, I promise (if that is even illegal; I know it’s frowned upon).  I was standing in line for tickets at Penn Station when a man asked the guy behind him whether he needed a MetroCard.

“I’m leaving town,” he said.

Next, the man tried the woman behind that guy.

“Nope,” she said.

Then he turned to the man in front of him in line.

“I’m not coming back,” he said.

Finally, when I could take the eavesdropping no longer, I called across the line, “You’re giving away a MetroCard?  I’ll take it!”

And I did.  It only had one ride left on it, but that one ride let me start my monthly pass a day later, so it was immensely appreciated.

I learned 2 things from this: 1.) talking to strangers can be monetarily beneficial, and 2.) most people at Penn Station are leaving NYC behind, never to return again.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 18, 2012 in NYC

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
