RSS

#275: Slip into an alternate universe

02 Oct

I talk about alternate universes a lot because the idea of them fascinates me.  Key word: idea.  I don’t actually want to go to an alternate universe.  So last night freaked me out a little.  Here’s what happened:

At some point between the time I arrived home after work and the time I went out for a run, I slipped into an alternate universe.  I know this because:

  1. I had a terrible headache and went running anyway.
  2. I was so good at running.
  3. I didn’t get sweaty until halfway through the run.
  4. I didn’t have to slow down the entire time.
  5. No one else was running.
  6. No one else, during the entire 20-30 minute run, was running.
  7. I did not see one other person running.
  8. After work, before dinner, at prime running time on a beautiful day, no one else was running.

Add to all of that the fact that everything was blurry because I didn’t have my contacts in and it was an unfamiliar neighborhood, and you get the perfect backdrop for a different reality.

I slipped back into the regular universe at some point between when I got home from the run and when the fire alarm went off because I was heating up chicken nuggets.  But for that half hour, I felt like a different person. Essentially, I was.  I could run like a runner!  It was crazy.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 2, 2012 in Science

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
