RSS

#276: Put together a bookcase

03 Oct

I wouldn’t say I’m the handiest person out there.  I once had to call someone in the middle of the night because I couldn’t pry open the fire alarm that wouldn’t stop going off.  I secured an air conditioner in the window with gorilla glue.  I put up new blinds by sliding them into the already existing brackets and hoping no one ever pulls too hard on the cord.

But this bookcase–even I could put it together.  It’s designed so that a monkey could do it in about a half hour; a human, 20 minutes.

However, there’s an important detail I didn’t know because in the past I’ve only ever been a helper or a helpful observer when putting bookcases together: you need another person.

Without someone helping, the easiest bookcase to assemble becomes an exercise in patience, balance, patience, patience, and patience.  It was so frustrating because I knew it was so simple and yet, since I only had 2 arms and 2 legs, it became the most complicated thing I would do that day.  Trying to line up those annoying ridges for the flimsy back pieces; screwing the screws in straight; attempting to make the shelves at least somewhat even–each seemed like an insurmountable obstacle.

And maybe it’s only because I just re-signed up for a dating site and am already disappointed in it, but it seemed like the task of putting together this bookcase was a loud message.  This is what you get for being alone: a shoddily assembled bookcase that shouldn’t be looked at too closely, and no one to admire the result of your hour’s work.

But I refuse to be a pathetic, bitter single woman.  It doesn’t go with my new mindset.  So, 2 or 4 eyes that might scan this page: look.  Admire.  I put this together this bookcase.  And I didn’t even use any gorilla glue.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2012 in Books

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “#276: Put together a bookcase

  1. Eagle-Eyed Editor

    October 4, 2012 at 4:28 am

    Congrats to you for getting that bookcase together! Looks nice. My hat’s off to you. 🙂

    I wish I had one like that.

     
    • fishmongerairlines

      October 4, 2012 at 7:27 am

      I know I was begging for that, but thanks!!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
