RSS

#296: Miss free underwear

23 Oct

If you’d have asked me a year ago whether I would ever be too busy to stop by Victoria’s Secret to pick up a pair of free underwear, I would have told you that was a ridiculous question.

I still can’t quite believe it happened.  I still don’t quite know how it happened.  I do know I’m busier than ever before in my life.  I know I have hardly any time to myself.  But so busy that I can’t make it to a store for a free gift, no purchase necessary?

In a way, it’s sad.  Who am I?  Easy answer: I’m someone I never wanted to be.  I never wished to be that person who had such a hectic job that she barely ever got home before 7pm.  But the slightly more difficult answer is: I’m someone I never thought I could be.  I thought, if I ever had a job that required so much time, I’d hate it.  And I can’t say that.  I can’t say I enjoy missing free underwear either.  But I can say it doesn’t bother me as much as it might have in the past.

This time, I’ve only thought about it all day–how yesterday was the last day to use the card–and devoted a blog post to my chagrin.  But in the past, I would have berated myself for being an idiot and not remembering to go to the store.  This time, I have other things to focus on.

Such as: how my new apartment is apparently punishing me for living alone, making it impossible to use the oven without the smoke alarm going off (when there is absolutely no smoke, by the way).

If anyone is looking for a poorly paid position as a smoke alarm fanner/free underwear retriever, let me know. Thanks in advance for your interest.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 23, 2012 in Clothing

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
