RSS

#311: Buttercup Bake Shop

07 Nov

Let’s just get this out there in the open from the start: I’m picky about cupcakes.  I love them dearly, but I’m not willing to settle for just any old piece of cake with frosting on it (don’t get me wrong–I’ll still eat it…but I won’t enjoy it).

For example, in my opinion, Butter Lane cupcakes are not worth the price tag.  Magnolia Bakery cupcakes are not worth waiting in line for an hour.  Crumbs cupcakes aren’t worth the calories in general.

I have a favorite cupcake place in NYC, and I’m fairly certain I’m not going to find one to replace it as #1.  So every time I try a new bakery, I try not to get my hopes up that the cupcakes will be satisfying to the point of giddiness.

Buttercup Bake Shop exceeded those low expectations and then some–yes, to the point of giddiness.  The cake itself, while possibly not the best tasting ever, was a good texture (meaning not too dry).  And the frosting–when it comes to cupcakes, this is obviously the most important part–was absolutely delicious, and there was a lot of it.

I used to pass by this bakery often because it’s near where I go swimming, but I never stopped in, which I now realize was a good thing because it’s going to be hard to resist coming here all the time, especially now that I work close by.  Oh, and to make the deal even sweeter, the prices are cheap, too.  Really, this is all you need to give me to make me happy–yummy frosting and a cheap price tag.  Anyone who might ever want to give me something at some point in the future: pay attention.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 7, 2012 in Food/Drink

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
