RSS

#321: Take miracle fruit pills

17 Nov

Synsepalum dulcificum.  That’s the scientific name for the plant whose berries make sour things taste sweet.

When I first heard about it, I thought it sounded crazy.  How could it really work?  Then I read an article about the science behind it, and it made more sense, but still sounded crazy.  I still doubted whether it would work for me.  My body doesn’t always work the way it’s supposed to when it comes to things like that.  Medicine rarely has an effect on me, but things that aren’t supposed to hurt or affect you have huge effects on me.  So who could tell what would happen if I deliberately messed with my taste buds?

There was only one way to find out.

It was crazy.  It wasn’t quite as dramatic of a change as all of the articles I read suggested though.  Lemons tasted a lot less sour, but not quite like lemonade.  Guinness tasted smoother but not quite like a chocolate milkshake.  Strawberries tasted riper.  Wine tasted sweeter.  Tomatoes just tasted gross (I don’t like tomatoes to begin with).

Of course, it affected people to various degrees.  For some of my friends, the pills altered tastes for a half hour. For me, it was more like 15 minutes.  It made me wonder if some of it wasn’t in our heads.  If you expect something to taste sweet, does it taste a little bit sweeter than if you assume it’s going to be sour?

I don’t know.  All I know is the miracle fruit could be an interesting addition to a diabetic’s diet.  If it were ever approved by the FDA, that is.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 17, 2012 in Food/Drink

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
