RSS

#328: Petey’s Burger

24 Nov

I’m trying to be open-minded about Astoria–after all, I live here now.  To most people who ask, I say it’s nice and cute and I like living there.  Which is all true.  But when it comes to restaurants, so far it just doesn’t live up to Manhattan.  Some of it probably has to do with the fact that I really haven’t tried very many restaurants in the borough yet, but some of it is probably because of places like Petey’s Burger.

It wasn’t the worst burger I’ve ever had, but it also wasn’t much like a burger–it tasted like they had taken a McDonald’s burger and smashed it, cooking it until the edges became flat and hard.  I actually don’t mind McDonald’s burgers, but you don’t go there expecting actual meat.

The sweet potato fries were decent, so it wasn’t a total waste.  But it was an extremely underwhelming taste experience overall.  I’m not blaming Astoria for the entire mishap, just Petey.  And maybe the teenager taking my order who wasn’t even looking at me because his friends had entered and were trying to get him to go talk to them outside.  He’s young; he can handle it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 24, 2012 in Food/Drink

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
