RSS

#329: Brooklyn Night Bazaar

25 Nov

Aside from the addition of live music, this “bazaar” was pretty much like every other craft fair in the city: half of the vendors are fairly talented artists in some capacity; a quarter are people trying to make money selling you something you could easily make yourself; a quarter of the people have just shown up with whatever they found in their closet as they were cleaning it out last week.

Understand I’m not complaining.  We need artists who are confident enough in their abilities and early enough with the rent check signed by their parents to come to these fairs and remind us of how we never had it quite so easy.  They do us a great service by reinforcing the idea that the only difference between them and us is that they had the guts to bring this stuff to a public place and put a price tag on it.  Without them, we might start thinking that it takes real talent to produce pieces worthy of being sold, and we might think that being born into a life of privilege doesn’t automatically mean you just fall into this plot line where you offer your wares to unsuspecting commoners.

I’m not bitter.  I never tried to be an artist, so I’m not in the position to comment on how it seems the NYC craft fair scene just epitomizes the NYC experience in general (those who think they deserve praise by simply being born constantly saying, “Look at me!” and those who are just trying to live their lives with some semblance of peace looking–because they’re polite and do what they’re asked most of the time–and wondering why their own existence doesn’t seem so exciting or meaningful just because no one else notices it).  I can only make the feeble observation that no matter how hard some of us try, we’re never going to be at such a level of contentment to go around assuming people want to own the things we made in our basement when we were younger, less cynical versions of ourselves.  All I can do is attend a craft fair and admire the objects that someone decided were worthy of admiration.

So don’t think I’m implying I’m somehow better than these people because I never tried to sell something everyone else was already trying to be successful at.  That’s not it at all; by following a fairly typical path in life so far (ignoring those 5 months when I randomly lived in Ohio), I’ve chosen to be viewed as more conservative. When people look at me or talk to me and think they know how I feel about certain topics just because I have fairly traditional views on some other topic, that’s not their fault.  I realize there’s no way for them to know I actually have unique viewpoints that maybe don’t fit into such a cookie cutter mold of the “sheltered Midwestern playing at big city life” role.  They couldn’t realize the longing I have to be recognized for the person I am vs. the one whoever I’m speaking to at the time wants me to be.  I mean, sure, I could tell them, but words fall out of my mouth like crumbs from an over-baked cookie–small pieces spraying from the sides with the occasional larger crispy piece plopping to the table in an intrusive manner.  Nobody wants that. Trust me, I’ve asked around.  So I keep the words inside for the most part, and usually I’m okay with that because I tell myself they’re too precious to display for all to see. Truthfully, though, I just haven’t found the right ones to express what I’m thinking that don’t make me sound like a spastic nutcase (in case you were wondering, the deeply rooted sentiment beyond whatever it sounds like I’m trying to convey at the time inevitably boils down to this: you have problems and I have problems and LOVE ME; I love you, not romantically, you understand, just as a person who has, by design too complicated to ever begin to comprehend, come into my life and affected it and therefore is valuable to me; isn’t the world incredible when we’re not too busy noticing its infinite frustrations?).

I guess really what I’m trying to say is: how much do you think I could charge for these paintings at a Brooklyn Night Bazaar-esque event?  They’re about 6 years old, so remember to factor the vintage aspect into your price suggestion.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 25, 2012 in Art

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
