RSS

#330: Play Christmas music before December

26 Nov

I used to be kind of into delayed gratification.  Apparently.  Every year, I had a rule that I couldn’t listen to Christmas music at home (clearly I have no control over the music blasting from speakers on the lamp posts of an entire street in my neighborhood) or play it on the piano until December 1st.  For no real reason.  It’s not like I was raised that way–my mother decorates the entire house (including bathrooms) for the holiday as early as she can after Thanksgiving.

This year, though, I gave in and played Christmas music on the piano yesterday.  And I was immediately supremely disappointed that I hadn’t held myself back until the end of the week when it was officially December.

No, just kidding.  It was actually pretty great, and all it did was put me into the holiday spirit a week earlier than normal.  Where’s the harm in that?

So it turns out it was a silly rule, as I imagine most rules I make for myself are.  Besides, who was I trying to kid?  You just know I would have been the child in that famous experiment who chose to eat her one marshmallow instantly rather than wait till later and get 2 of them.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 26, 2012 in Music

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “#330: Play Christmas music before December

  1. joycebrandon

    November 27, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    I start playing Christmas music as we start preparing for Thanksgiving. It always makes me feel good & helps me forget the anguish I feel at the sun’s setting at 4:40 in the afternoon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
