RSS

#353: Think while swimming

19 Dec

The one place in my life where my brain couldn’t interfere used to be the pool.  For whatever reason, while swimming, my thoughts couldn’t get to me.  They’d try, sure, and sometimes they put a lot of effort into the pursuit.  But sooner or later, the pool would always fight back, and the calming quality of the water combined with the concentration on the physical activity was no match for my persistent thoughts.  They’d fade away and leave me alone for a bit.  A wonderful feeling.

Not yesterday.  Yesterday, I was so frustrated over something work-related not worth explaining that my brain refused to give up.  It forced me to think about it, even while swimming, ruining the one safe haven I had.

So.  Guess it’s time to face the facts: I’m stuck with my brain.

Of course, it’s stuck with me, which makes me feel a little better.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 19, 2012 in Sports

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
