RSS

#356: Turn down $300

22 Dec

$300 is a not insignificant amount of money to me, and I believe that will always be true.  Even if I become a millionaire after selling the rights to my travel nightmare stories (to be turned into a Lifetime Original Movie in which the heroine meets her husband only as a result of her flight being canceled–it will be called Love in Transit), I have to assume I won’t forget my money-lacking roots.

However.  After missing the first bus to the airport because it’s packed due to the pouring rain, arriving at the airport to think the flight is canceled, realizing that’s an arriving flight from Cleveland instead, getting into the ridiculously long security line only to be pulled out because no one is making it through in time to make their flight, getting through the first class security line 20 minutes before the flight only to find out there is a shuttle bus to the terminal due to construction, and getting to the gate after the final boarding call to hear that I have accidentally volunteered to give up my seat while checking in the night before (it’s too boring of a story to explain how this happened, so I’m going to stick with the main boring story for now), $300 doesn’t seem like a lot.

“Are you sure you don’t want $300 in a travel voucher to switch flights?  The weather’s getting better later so by 1pm it will be fine.”

Oh, okay, airport worker.  I mean, I get it.  You think you’re talking to an inexperienced traveler who might believe you when you imply that huge delays in the morning due to high winds will somehow all be ironed out by 1pm, not resulting in canceled flights.  Sure.

$300 doesn’t even cover what I paid for the original flight.  $300 is just this random amount of money that, while nice to have, is fortunately not the difference between me affording my rent and being kicked out of my apartment.  $300 won’t get me into a higher tax bracket.  $300 won’t cover my internet bill for a year.  $300 won’t pay for me and friends to attend Sleep No More.

To tell you the truth, though, it could have been $1000 and I still wouldn’t have taken it.  Some things don’t have a monetary value.  Getting to my parents’ place in Ohio in time to experience the power going out (and with it, the heat) because of wind and a snowstorm–that is priceless.

I’m not being sarcastic.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 22, 2012 in Money, Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “#356: Turn down $300

  1. Day Today Dating

    December 22, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    I totally agree with you on this one.

    – K.

     

Leave a Reply

 
