RSS

#358: Be the navigator

24 Dec

It’s a good thing the latest predicted apocalyptic date has already passed, because otherwise, I would be freaking out right now.

I’ve never been good at directions.  Call it hereditary because my mother is just as bad.  Call it gender-based because many women are bad.  Call it obliviousness because I don’t pay attention to my surroundings.  You’d probably be right in all cases.  Regardless of the cause, I can’t find my way across town if I’m not in a numbered grid area.  I can’t tell you how to drive to the house I lived in for 18 years.  I can’t leave a store and turn the right way.

Yesterday, though, not only did I recognize where I was, but I actually told the driver where to go.  And–this is the most important part–I was correct!  I directed my friend back to the freeway from a side street in Cleveland, purely from knowing how we’d arrived.

If you were looking for world-ending signs, I’d say there’s none clearer than that.

But, since the crazies have now shut up about humanity’s destruction (for the moment, anyway), I guess we just have to chalk it up to enormous personal growth.  I’m fine with that.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 24, 2012 in Science

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “#358: Be the navigator

  1. Day Today Dating

    December 24, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    I’m terrible with directions too. Thank goodness for the invention of GPS.

    – K.

     

Leave a Reply

 
