RSS

#369: See a drag show

06 Jan

If you had asked me before last night whether I would enjoy a drag cabaret dinner show, I would have told you, “It’s not my kind of thing.”

But now, having attended a drag cabaret dinner show, I can unfortunately describe at least 2 other people for whom it’s even less their kind of thing.

  1. The 9 year old boy who was called up on stage because he was so obviously out of place that the workers felt they had to draw attention to him so the audience would be aware this kid’s parents were aware he was there, so when they spent the entire show swearing, at least everyone would understand it’s not the workers’ fault if this kid grows up confused (mostly about why his parents dragged him to a drag show that one time).
  2. The 15 year old whose mother brought her to the show as a birthday present. This same mother was later seen crying in the bathroom after drinking too much as both her daughter and one of the workers tried to comfort her.

I didn’t enjoy the show; it’s still not my kind of thing.  But at least I went there willingly to help celebrate a friend’s upcoming wedding.  At least I didn’t spend the entire show wondering why my parents had taken me someplace so completely inappropriate and unenjoyable for my age level.

This was one of those situations where I thought, “Well, if I do end up having kids one day, at least I know I’ll be able to avoid one way of screwing them up.”

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2013 in People

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “#369: See a drag show

  1. onechicklette

    January 7, 2013 at 1:18 am

    Which spot?

     
    • fishmongerairlines

      January 7, 2013 at 7:38 am

      Lucky Cheng’s.

       
      • onechicklette

        January 7, 2013 at 10:12 am

        Ah yes. I couldn’t think of the name last night. The original location used to be downright scary!

         

Leave a Reply

 
