RSS

#390: Make coffee

10 Feb

“Can you do me a favor?”

“Sure.”

“Will you put a pot of coffee on?”

“Uh…”

“…”

“I don’t know how to make coffee.”

I may have been the only person in America over the age of 20 who had no clue how to make coffee.  Well, I guess that isn’t accurate; I had some clue.  I knew the process involved a coffee pot, and I knew it involved water.  But after that, no idea.

There are certain areas of knowledge most people just take for granted that everyone possesses.  And who can blame them?  But if I never drink coffee, what opportunity would I have had to learn how to make it?  Since I don’t need this particular set of skills in my everyday life, why would I have used up valuable memory space to store it?

Maybe so I could consider myself a typical adult.  Possibly so if someone asked me to make coffee one day, I wouldn’t have to ask for each step to be spelled out so that by the time it’s explained, the other person could have already completed the task.

But being typical is overrated.  And so is drinking coffee.

Though if you’d like me to make you a pot, I am now capable of doing that.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 10, 2013 in Food/Drink

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
