RSS

#427: Drink a guanabana shake

01 Apr

I’m selfish.  I have no problem admitting this because I have no problem admitting I am human.  So when my brother, dad, and brother-in-law took an extra hour getting back to Brooklyn after visiting the 9/11 memorial in the rain last night, all I was worried about were the yucca fries getting cold and the fruit shakes getting warm and the guacamole getting brown.

Which my brother pointed out when he yelled at me for texting to ask if they were on their way because the restaurant had called a half hour earlier to say the food was ready.  “We’re an hour late and all you care about is the food?  You don’t even ask if we’re okay?!”

That sounds bad.  But truthfully, he’s right–though in this case it’s not solely because I’m selfish.  I didn’t even think for a second they might not be okay.  They had directions from me.  They’re 3 grown men.  What could go wrong?

Plenty.  But on a daily basis, I don’t think about those things.  Lately there’s more and more reporting on subway fatalities that force you to think about the dangerous potential staring you in the face all the time, but other than that, the scary aspects of living in NYC tend to fade into the background during normal life.  Not because they’re not probable–my dad could have tripped down the stairs; my brother could have been pushed onto the tracks; my brother-in-law could have walked out in front of a cab.  We don’t think about all of the things that can go wrong because if we did we’d go crazy.

If, every time I left my home, I thought about how incredible it was that I ever made it through the day alive since I am the clumsiest person I know and one of the most oblivious, I’d be too terrified to ever make it out the door. I realize that doesn’t mean I should take my health and safety for granted, but I also realize when I think too much about anything is when it tends to get really dangerous.

So, instead of thinking about how my entire immediate family is currently driving 8 hours back to Ohio and all of the things that could go wrong along the way, I am typing this blog post about the guanabana shake I had yesterday that, while arriving an hour late, was still delicious.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 1, 2013 in Food/Drink

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
