RSS

#446: Walk across the Queensboro Bridge

03 May

One of my favorite things to do in the city–despite it being pretty touristy–is walk across the Brooklyn Bridge.  If you come visit me, I will try to make you do it.  You might protest that you’re tired or it’s hot or it’s nowhere near where I live, but I will still do my best to convince you, and once I do, you will not regret it.  The views and the ice cream at the other side make it all worth it.  Plus it’s just cool.

I was hoping walking across the Queensboro Bridge would be like that.  And it was.  Sort of.

There were no good views.  Not even one.

There was no ice cream at the other side, although I did step on a nail at the end of the bridge and spent 5 minutes trying to pry it out of my shoe so it wouldn’t break through and stab my foot.

Okay, so walking across the Queensboro Bridge was nothing like walking across the Brooklyn Bridge.  But it only took 20 minutes once I found the entrance (which took 10 minutes), and I was able to walk all the way home, so now I know it’s possible in the case of a natural disaster that prompts the subways to be closed and buses to stop running.

Of course, given the choice, I’ll still walk across the Brooklyn Bridge even though I don’t live in Manhattan and don’t need to go to Brooklyn.  If you don’t understand why, you don’t understand how much I like ice cream.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 3, 2013 in NYC

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
