RSS

#471: Stay in a Cleveland hotel

10 Jun

I’ve always liked the idea of a “staycation” in New York, but it’s much more affordable to have one in Cleveland.

Waking up yesterday, the first thing I did–after realizing how much my feet hurt from Greek dancing the night before–was go to the window and check out the view.  Despite the gloomy morning that greeted me, being able to see Progressive Field, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and the Fountain of Eternal Life from the corner windows was pretty cool.  These are all things I’ve seen many times before, but when witnessed from a hotel, I was able to see them through the eyes of a tourist.  My tourist eyes told me that no, Cleveland may not be as exciting a town as some other cities, and yes, it may take a while to catch on to trends that have captivated other urban centers for years, but it’s a nice city.  It doesn’t chew you up and spit you out like some other larger places have been known to do.  It would never dream of crushing your dreams like some of its other, more powerful relatives.  It welcomes you with open arms and accepts you for you no matter what, and that’s something none of the other cities I’ve ever lived in have even pretended to do.

Cleveland, I know it may not seem like it, but I do love you, deep down.  I’m sorry I don’t always show it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 10, 2013 in Travel

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
