RSS

#507: See a vintage carnival

29 Jul

The only time I really wish I lived in a different time period is when I think about how great it would be to always wear big frilly dresses and have little responsibility.  But then I remember 1.) I wouldn’t have been in the economic class that got to do that, and 2.) corsets.

So going to a vintage carnival completely satisfies my living-in-the-past urge.  Seeing rides and games from 100 years ago on Governors Island was fun, and it came with none of the terror that accompanies riding an old roller coaster like…oh, I don’t know, the Cyclone.

The one thing that wasn’t vintage?  The prices of the cocktails.  Though judging from my mojito, back then, cocktails were basically glasses of pure alcohol garnished with a sprig of mint.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 29, 2013 in NYC

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
