RSS

#535: Sit on a sculpture

02 Nov

I didn’t do it on purpose.  Maybe if the Noguchi Museum doesn’t want people accidentally sitting on their sculptures, they shouldn’t place one that looks like a perfect rock to sit on in their sculpture garden.

I was back at the museum’s free First Fridays for the second time in 3 months.  I figured I could use another dose of the calm-inducing sculptures considering this week has been anything but (mostly in my own head, but believe me, that’s enough to do plenty of damage, calm-killing-wise).  So I went there after work and sat in the sculpture garden in the dark, and tried to figure out how exactly people manage meditation.

How do you quiet a brain that just wants to splatter errant thoughts at you?  How do you convince a mind to rest when it only wants to bounce around off the walls of your skull?  How do you force a soul to be still when it’s merely concerned with fighting for its life?  How do you remember that in the midst of chaos (whether within your head or in an airport in LA) when it feels like everything is crashing down around you, you are not alone in the world?  How do you find peace when it insists upon being the champion in an elaborate hide-and-seek game?

These are the things I was trying to contemplate, to prepare myself for meditating, when a museum worker approached me and said, “That’s a sculpture.  You can’t sit on the sculptures.”

I got up and went inside, where a group of people were sitting around a wire sculpture and discussing it.  They were just calmly talking about this one piece of art.  I thought I could probably learn a lesson on how to be quiet and focused from them, but after about 15 seconds of watching them I grew impatient and left.  I want to be calm, and centered, and productive, and not such a hopeless slave to my emotions, yes.  But I also don’t want to spend my precious time on this earth talking about a wire tree.

  photo (55)

Here are some people talking about a wire thing.              And here’s what looks like a little dinosaur.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 2, 2013 in Art

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “#535: Sit on a sculpture

  1. jacksaunsea

    November 2, 2013 at 1:35 pm

    One idea, in response to your posed questions, is that I find things which are utter non-sense to do. Speak in jibberish, sing and create a melody with sounds and jibberish words (sort of like the Christians who speak in tongues). Usually “practicing non-sense” results in laughter and takes my mind totally off of the pressures existing in life.

    Sitting on a sculpture sounds like non-sense to me. I might try that sometime. Hahaha

     
    • fishmongerairlines

      November 2, 2013 at 6:02 pm

      Thanks for the tip! I sing nonsense all the time, but with real words. I’ll have to try your way.

       
      • jacksaunsea

        November 2, 2013 at 7:52 pm

        Hahahaha, awesome!

         

Leave a Reply

 
