RSS

#551: Make peanut butter blondies

29 Nov

I love blondies.  Mostly the chocolate chip kind, because those are really the only kind I’ve ever had–though I have had the chocolate chip-nut kind, but I feel like even mentioning them would be a waste of time since they’re so clearly inferior to the simple chocolate chip kind.  I mean, I like nuts as much as a normal person who likes nuts does, but why do we, as a culture, feel the need to put them in other things?  Nuts should be one of those foods that you only consume plain, or with salt or sugar or whatever.  Do not put them in cookies, do not put them in brownies, and please, for the love of whatever it is you love, do not put them in ice cream.

See.  That’s why I didn’t want to mention them.

I’d never had peanut butter blondies before, but how could they go wrong?  Peanut butter, chocolate, Reese’s Pieces.  You would be hard-pressed to come up with a better-sounding baked good.

And yet–they weren’t very good.  Was it the flour that I substituted with whole wheat flour?  Was it the fact that the recipe only called for 1/3 cup of peanut butter?  Was it that I didn’t put the Reese’s Pieces into the batter and instead only on top because I didn’t want the candy playing the role of crunchy-annoying nuts?  Or was it just that when you’ve had a recipe bookmarked for 5 months and anticipated making it for just as long, it will inevitably turn out not quite as amazingly as you’d imagined?

photo (61)

I don’t know.  I do know their lack of good taste certainly didn’t stop me from eating the leftovers for breakfast today.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 29, 2013 in Food/Drink

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
