RSS

#553: Trim a tree

05 Dec

…by myself.

My least favorite Christmas song is “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” because it’s ridiculously depressing.  When I hear it I imagine someone sitting by herself in her house, decorating a tree, and missing–someone.  Whether she’s alone due to death, or distance, or something less distinctive isn’t clear.  All that matters is that she’s alone.

And if there’s any time when being alone sucks, it’s Christmas time.

So I assumed buying a little tree for my little apartment all by myself would be sad.  But I needed some holiday cheer, and I can’t think of a better way to get in the spirit than by smelling pine every time I get home.

Luckily, it turned out not to be sad.  Instead of thinking of the poor, lonely person, I thought of Sandra Bullock in While You Were Sleeping, pulling her Christmas tree up into her window.  Which yes, is sad, but at the end she gets Bill Pullman, and that is happy.  So, overall happy.

My tree is overall happy, too.  And I am as well.

So have yourself a merry little Christmas–just do it in the company of others, or, if you can’t, at least get a tree.

photo (62)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 5, 2013 in Nature

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
