RSS

#576: Singles in America

09 Feb

A couple of years ago, when I first started blogging for real (meaning getting through more than 2 blog posts before deleting the blog and starting a new one), I was very conscious of the fact that I didn’t want to become a dating blogger.  I was single, and I sometimes talked about men, so it was a slightly slippery slope–but one I was determined not to slide down.

I’m not sure why I was so worried about being classified as a dating blogger.  I think it’s because my ultimate goal was to be known as a serious writer (serious meaning talented and respected, not somber and rational), and writing about dating didn’t seem to jibe with the picture of “serious writer” I had in my mind.

Now I realize that’s silly, considering most of the entries under my name on Google are about dating.  If someone gets the impression that I only write about dating, so what?  So far, the only things I’ve had published have been about dating, so it’s not an entirely inaccurate picture to get.

The event I went to yesterday felt akin to accepting I’m sometimes a dating blogger.  Going to the Singles in America event meant admitting I’m single.  Which, yeah, I do all the time, but it’s not something I necessarily want to gather with others to talk about.

Luckily, that wasn’t really the point of the event; it was actually to release the results of match.com’s Single in America study.  Patti Stanger (of Millionaire Matchmaker fame) led a panel including Perez Hilton in discussing random sex and dating questions that were part of the poll, which mostly involved Patti being sort of outrageous. She admitted she had sex in her parents’ maid’s room (the outrageous part here being that she had a maid’s room) and that her boyfriend doesn’t respect his ex-girlfriend because she slept with him on the first date (the outrageous part of course being that Patti wants to be with a guy who would say that).  She told a 58 year old woman–who looked ridiculously fantastic for her age–that she should grow out her hair if she wanted to meet men, and she said about 6 times, “Well that’s in the gay community,” to Perez as if it’s impossible for any gay man to want a more traditional relationship (vs. just sex).

So it was funny.  But the best part came at the end when, after taking pictures of fish in the fish tank for 10 minutes straight, I picked up my gift bag on the way out.  Looking in, I saw a little bottle and thought, Oh, some sort of lotion, and was fully prepared to leave the bag there.  Then I realized the bottles were actually filled with vodka.

Maybe it’s a stereotype, but it’s one I don’t mind embodying: single people love their alcohol.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 9, 2014 in Dating

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
