RSS

#593: THE(UN)FAIR

09 Mar

It’s Armory Arts Week, which means art shows, benefits, and events throughout the city.  I’m me, which means I will attend a free show because even though I want to support art and artists and creativity, I’m too much of a sucker for free things.

Luckily for me, there’s THE(UN)FAIR, a show full of slightly off (though when we’re talking about art, who can really determine what is or isn’t “normal”?) pieces.  Veering dangerously close to the kind of art that spurs comments like, “I could make that,” or “This is pointless” that “contemporary” art sometimes risks approaching, most of the pieces in the exhibit were still obviously created by people who actually put time and vision into their work, which I appreciated.  Even the piece that was just hundreds of bobby pins hanging from the ceiling looked cool.

Plus, there was free Ben & Jerry’s ice cream, which, though I avoided it the first time I walked through the exhibit (since ice cream is one of my biggest weaknesses and I’m still attempting to keep to my healthy eating resolution), drew me in by the end because 1.) it was free, 2.) it was ice cream, 3.) I had not partaken in pizza and cupcakes (2 of my other biggest weaknesses) at a party the night before so I clearly deserved a reward for that, and 4.) they had strawberry cheesecake flavor.

Cheesecake is one of my biggest weaknesses–along with…okay, fine, basically every other food that is nutritionally questionable.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 9, 2014 in Art

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
