RSS

#594: Run home from work

11 Mar

Now that I’m officially training for the Brooklyn Half Marathon, I’m starting to get worried.  It’s easy to tell yourself you’re going to do something.  It’s not much of a stretch to make a plan to do it.  But then actually doing it?

That’s scary.

It’s too early to be worried, since there are 2 months left before the race, and the weather might–maybe, except for a weekly snowstorm–be getting warm soon.  There’s plenty of time for a body that only a year ago couldn’t imagine running 3 miles to get into shape to run 13.1.

Logically, I know this.  Yet even while running over the Queensboro Bridge last night after work, I felt the panic clawing its way into my brain.

“You’re tired after only a mile!” it said.  “Look how hard it is for you to get up this hill on the bridge–you really think you’re going to be standing after 10 more miles, let alone running?”

I pushed it away, of course.  That’s what you do to pesky panic.  I kept running, and I ran all the way to the grocery store, where I bought healthy food that never quite fills me up, and I got home and took a shower, and I looked at my face in the mirror, and I realized I liked how it looked.

Flushed, alert, sort of crazed.

I like how I look when I’m challenging myself.  It’s so easy to get dragged down by things out of your control, but training for a half marathon is something you can control.  Maybe you’ll get an unforeseen injury; maybe you’ll collapse before the finish line.  But no one can stop you from training.  It’s completely in your hands.

That’s scary.

And also kind of awesome.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 11, 2014 in Sports

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
