RSS

#605: Sleep No More

04 Apr

This is not a review for Sleep No More–if you want spoilers, just visit Yelp.

This is more an alert that if you suffer from Fear of Missing Out (FOMO), this is not the show for you.  Or it is–if you want to attempt to overcome this affliction.

As you probably know, at Sleep No More, the actors are all in separate places simultaneously enacting different scenes.  So even if you wanted to, you’d never see everything.  Even if you go at the earliest time and stay for the full 3 hours (I did, and I recommend this fully).

At first, when I found myself wandering around empty rooms, I felt the panic of FOMO seeping into my brain.  I knew there were great scenes going on all around me, but I didn’t know when or where exactly.  Plus, everything was dark, and I’m bad with directions.  But after I chased the first guy to run past me and ended up in a room by myself with him but then was bored because nothing was really happening, I started to get over it. I wandered in a creepy forest for a while.  I pulled back curtains into rooms I would never approach in real life.  I took candy from a candy jar.

And I remembered I absolutely hate the notion of dating that has people always searching for the next best thing and therefore afraid to ever settle down and make a choice.  And how I get frustrated when people think there is only one person for them out there when in fact they could be happy with a number of people if they could just choose one.  So I decided to stop caring that others within the performance might be–most definitely were–having a different experience.  I stopped wondering what else was out there on a different floor.  I decided to just live in the moment and accept the entertainment for what it was.  I didn’t question whether I should be in another room or following another character.  And I enjoyed myself immensely, despite the crowds of people that grew as the night went on and made it difficult to see things or go anywhere.  I just kept doing what I wanted, when I wanted.

Did I miss important, amazing scenes?  Maybe.  Probably.  But Macbeth himself grabbed me and snarled a line in my ear, so, I’m happy with the choices I made.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2014 in Theater

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “#605: Sleep No More

  1. Lena

    May 16, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    I’m in lust with it and blown away by talent and that “hotel”… if it was up to me, it’ll be my home. My life, fantasies and dreams will never be the same..

     
    • fishmongerairlines

      May 16, 2014 at 8:05 pm

      Luckily I think it’s here to stay, for a while at least. Lust away!

       

Leave a Reply

 
