RSS

#612: Roberta’s

16 Apr

This could have easily been one of those over-hyped, under-delivered experiences.  It probably would have been, had the hostess’ quoted wait time of 45 minutes to an hour been less than the actual wait time.

But it was actually 35 minutes more than the real wait time on a soggy April evening that, unbeknownst to us then, would later turn into a snowy April evening.  We had only just gotten a drink and sat down at the backyard tiki bar when my name was called and we were led to a cozy table by a fireplace.

The pizza came out just as quickly.  Plus, it was good.  Like I said, had I waited 2 hours to taste it like many yelp reviewers did, I may have been telling a different story.  But it was fairly delicious for a 5 minute prep-time. And the crust was a nice texture–kind of like naan.

So I’m impressed.  Would I return, or bring visitors to Bushwick just to try Roberta’s?  Probably not.  But that’s mostly because my favorite New York pizza restaurant is still this dinky slice place on the Upper East Side. You can take the girl out of the UES, but you can’t take the UES out of the girl.

Or the pizza.  At least, don’t try to take pizza from me if you know what’s good for you.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2014 in Food/Drink

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “#612: Roberta’s

  1. Bryan The Girl

    April 20, 2014 at 8:49 am

    I live right across the street from that place and I’ve never even tried their pizza. I always go for some cool brunch special, and I can assure you that their other food rocks!

     
    • fishmongerairlines

      April 20, 2014 at 6:58 pm

      Oh, good to know, thanks!

       

Leave a Reply

 
