RSS

#616: Take prescription pain medication

22 Apr

So apparently, if you arrive at the gate for a flight less than 15 minutes before the scheduled departure time, the airline can give away your seat.

I fly at least 5 times a year, so I thought I knew all of the rules–both silly and reasonable ones–of the airport.  So when I noticed the woman checking IDs at security was taking forever, I kept a close watch on the clock.  “As long as I get through security with 15 minutes before the flight, I can still make it, since they close the gate 10 minutes beforehand,” I kept telling myself.

Which would have been true if my last name were Rodriguez, since while I was standing at the gate arguing with the worker that I arrived in time, a man with that last name walked up and boarded the plane because they hadn’t given away his seat.

It all worked out in the end. They gave me a travel voucher after seeing how upset and insistent I was that I had followed the rules.  But the short run to the gate angered my already swollen ankle–thanks to cycling–so by the time I got to work, I was visibly limping.

Luckily, a co-worker had prescription pain pills and gave me one to help with the inflammation.

Now, if only there were a pill to stop time so my ankle could heal and I could still keep up with my training schedule for the Brooklyn half marathon.  If you have this prescription, get in touch, because I will take anything right now to ensure all this hard work doesn’t go wasted next month.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 22, 2014 in Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
