RSS

#619: The Lost Lectures

26 Apr

Every time someone asks me to name my favorite activity from this blog, I always say LoftOpera.  But I first went to that event almost a year ago, so I’ve been eager to replace it with a more recent phenomenon.  Luckily, The Lost Lectures came to New York last night, and I now have a new go-to “what’s the best thing you’ve done?” answer.

You can look it up yourself if you want to know more details, because frankly, describing it probably won’t sound that incredible.  It was a series of short lectures in a giant warehouse event space way out past Bushwick–technically in Queens.

But suffice it to say that the concept was awesome, the execution was fine (which is often where these large events fall down), there were free slushies (due to the last-minute lack of alcohol license), and the interesting topics of the lectures were enough to make me almost forget my near constant anxiety at the thought of not being able to participate in the Brooklyn half marathon I’ve been training for (because of an ankle injury that has apparently decided to stick around for a while).

I went by myself because my friends didn’t want to come and I didn’t want to miss out on it just because I didn’t have anyone to accompany me.  And honestly, I had a better time than I would have if I had dragged someone who wasn’t interested in it with me.  As much as I often wonder whether it’s the case, judging by my perpetually solo status in life, last night reinforced that I’m pretty decent company.

Though if I could find someone willing to attend this type of event with me and then also want to kiss me and love me always and reassure me that my obsession over my ankle isn’t going to help make it better and it isn’t the end of the world if I can’t run one race, I wouldn’t turn down the prospect.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 26, 2014 in NYC

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
