RSS

#657: See Piper Kerman

24 Jul

One of the reasons I don’t like Piper’s character on Orange is the New Black is the same reason I thought I wouldn’t like Lena Dunham’s character on Girls: I am predisposed to dislike people who grew up privileged.  Whether that’s as bad–or even the same–as automatically disliking people who grew up disadvantaged is a topic for another discussion.

But I found, aside from that issue, when I heard the real Piper speak at Bryant Park yesterday, what bothered me was how apparent it was that she took this situation that to many people is devastating in the true sense of the word in that it destroys their lives permanently and turned it into something she could make money from.

Of course she did.  And why shouldn’t she have?  I’m a writer; I would do the same thing.  Plus, she’s also apparently advocating to change some of the harsh conditions in US prisons, and how can I possibly speak negatively about a person who’s trying to make it so humans are treated as human beings even if they’re mentally and/or emotionally damaged?

I can’t.  So this post will end now.  But it doesn’t change the fact that I still don’t like her character on the show.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 24, 2014 in TV

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
