RSS

#692: CityMD

18 Sep

I still don’t understand how this is possible:

  • I needed to see a doctor–not urgently, but also not worth taking time away from work to sit in a waiting room for 2 hours
  • I checked in online to CityMD, NYC’s relatively new (within the past 5 years or so) urgent care system
  • I checked in at the location 10 blocks from my office, just before 5pm
  • There was one person ahead of me
  • I waited 5 minutes to see a doctor
  • I waited 5 minutes to pay my co-pay after seeing the doctor (at which point they apologized “for the wait”)

I imagine it probably takes longer if you go after 5pm, or during lunchtime, since as I was leaving, there were around 5 or 6 people in the waiting room.  But after sitting in an urgent care office for 4 hours in Ohio last Christmas to treat a sinus infection, and after avoiding going to the doctor sometimes because I’m too sick to handle the wait, this was bliss.

Now that I know how seamless the process is, I’m actually looking forward to the next time I need an immediate doctor’s appointment.  Okay, no, that’s obviously not true.  But at least I know that if I do need help, I won’t have to spend the entire day waiting for it.  For any urgent care, that’s incredible.  For a doctor’s office in NYC, it’s amazing.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 18, 2014 in Health

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
