RSS

#694: Go to Bear Mountain

21 Sep

As we were about to enter the bar for a birthday party, my friend said, “Tonight could be the night you meet the guy you’re going to marry.”

Then we walked in and discovered the bar was taken over by the New York Gay Football League.

Which is not to say that it wasn’t still a possibility I could meet my future husband that night, though you have to admit the odds were not in my favor, being suddenly surrounded by women (who liked women).

But it is to say that you can never be quite sure what is coming your way.  For example, earlier that day I had willingly boarded a boat for a 2.5 hour cruise up the Hudson to visit Bear Mountain for Oktoberfest.  And I wasn’t seasick at all.

So in actuality, every day and every night and every in between has the potential to be a life-changing moment. I think that’s cool.  I also think the NYGFL has some pretty aggressive people on it, considering I was in the bathroom at the bar for less than 30 seconds before one girl started banging on the door.  That doesn’t have anything to do with Bear Mountain or philosophical musings about the universe so I shouldn’t even include it in this post, but restroom etiquette is important to me as someone who visits them a lot, so I’m leaving it in.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 21, 2014 in Nature

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
