RSS

#695: Be a guest speaker

23 Sep

So, okay: I am a decent public speaker when I’m prepared.  But put me in front of a room of people, ask me my middle name, and I’ll probably give you a convoluted, 3-minute response that might, if you’re lucky, conclude with the answer to your question.  In other words, I can’t think on my feet.

Which means when I was asked to be a guest speaker for a master’s course at NYU, I wasn’t worried about the presentation part.  A few hours fiddling with powerpoint while watching my fantasy football team lose in the slowest, most torturous way possible, and that was all set.  It was the part at the end, the question portion of the evening, that made me sweat.  Literally.

Luckily, it turned out that I am actually qualified to be a guest speaker for a graduate class, and that spending almost 8 years in an industry meant I was able to answer every question both the students and instructor asked. Which was a good realization.

An even better realization is that it’s all over.  Plus, now I can put “professional public speaker” on my resume.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 23, 2014 in People

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
