RSS

#731: Get super glue on skin

19 Dec

“Hi, how are you?  If you get super glue on your skin, does it ever come off?”

The frantic call to my brother is just one way you can tell I’m sometimes impetuous.  Only after I carelessly touched the thing I was super-gluing with my finger did I bother to read the back of the bottle to see whether getting it on your skin is permanently damaging.

It didn’t confirm–only, “DO NOT GET IT ON YOUR SKIN.”

My brother, however, said it will eventually come off.  My options were to use soap and water (tried it; didn’t work), use nail polish remover (will try it; didn’t get around to it last night), or use a knife to scrape it off (no way am I trusting myself with a knife near my living flesh).

It made me wonder though…are there things you can do that will permanently damage your life?  Killing someone, I imagine.  But other than that, can we bounce back eventually from anything we do?  Over the past few years I’ve come to assume the answer is yes, since I’ve “come back” from a few less than safe decisions.  But I don’t think I’ve ever truly tested the theory, unless you count once willingly participating in what can only be called an emotionally abusive relationship.  Okay, we can count that.  And a year later I’ve mostly recovered from even that. There will always be a part of me–like, my heart?  Or my brain?  Sometimes it’s hard to tell the 2 apart–that is scarred, but like any useful scar, it remains there to remind me of what I learned and not to actually hurt me.

So I’m going to stick with the answer of yes.  It’s refreshing to do so when your default is often no.

Plus, I think if this super glue stayed on my finger forever I would go crazy, so it’s in my best interest to believe the answer’s yes.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 19, 2014 in People

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
